Italian Spouses Association of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs

What is EUFASA?

The first Conference of Spouses’ Associations of the Ministeries of Foreign Affairs of the European Community was held by the Italian Association ACDMAE, in Rome in 1985. It was in that venue, that the need of a closer link between European associations emerged and it was thus decided to convene once a year.

The Conference was initially defined, ECFASA and later EUFASA, standing for European Union Foreign Affairs Spouses Association. Through its annual conference and its interactive web site, Eufasa turned into a venue of discussion around all those issues affecting the life of spouses/partners and families accompanying the civil servants of the Ministeries of Foreign Affairs in their nomadic life.

Eufasa’s objective is to identify, through the interexchange of views, the best practices in order to provide solutions to main problems regarding life of ‘Foreign Affairs’ families when both abroad and at home. Solutions which are then put forward to national administrations as well as to the European Commission.

Eufasa main activities are the following:

  • annual conferences which are usually held in the country holding the European Presidency in the first semester of each year. Participants are two delegates per each member Association and observers of non-Eu member Associations;
  • meetings with spouses of representatives in European Embassies, which are regularly organized by each Association in its capital city;
  • the presentation of a report to the Committee for Administrative Affairs and Protocol of the European Commission, dealing with one topic chosen at the annual Conference;
  • discussion forum on the intranet web site where information is gathered and working groups carry on their activities.

The current members of EUFASA are Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, EU Commission, Esthonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom and as privileged observers Iceland, Norway and Switzerland.